Custom Agents
Configurable Notion agents that run recurring work automatically from schedules and workspace or Slack event triggers, using the pages, databases and connected tools each agent is explicitly granted, and taking documented actions such as updating records, posting reports and sending Slack messages.
Recorded characteristics
- Function
- Notion documents Custom Agents as shared, configurable agents that run in the background on instructions set by their creator. Notion states that, once set up, Custom Agents can read from Notion pages and databases and certain connected apps, run on recurring triggers and workspace events, take actions such as posting reports, filing bugs, updating records or sending messages, and hand off part of a job to other Custom Agents they are given access to. Triggers documented include recurring schedules (daily, weekly, monthly, yearly, with time and timezone), Notion events (comment added, page added to a database, property updated, page removed from a database, AI Meeting Note finished, with optional filters) and Slack events (message posted to a channel, emoji reaction added, agent mentioned). Notion documents an optional mode in which an agent proposes changes as suggested edits for per-item approval rather than applying them directly. Notion distinguishes Custom Agents from the personal Notion Agent, describing Notion Agent as on-demand and Custom Agents as autonomous. Documented examples such as Q&A agents, task-routing agents and status-update agents are use cases of this capability, not separate capabilities.
- Data access
- Notion states that Custom Agents only use content they are explicitly granted access to, configured per agent in the agent Tools and access settings. Documented grantable sources are specific Notion pages and databases, the broader set of pages shared with everyone in Notion where the creator chooses that scope, optional web access controlled by a per-agent toggle, Slack channels through the Slack AI connector, other Custom Agents for hand-off, and Notion additionally lists Mail, Calendar and MCP integrations as sources agents can be given. Notion states that agents never have full workspace access by default and that access can be kept to none or a small set of pages. Access to Slack private channels depends on how a Slack workspace admin connected Slack to the Notion workspace and, for private channels, on authorising the creator Slack account. What any individual agent can reach is therefore configuration-specific; the Registry does not record that every Custom Agent accesses every listed source.
- Actions
- Can take actions
- External actions
- Conditional
- Human confirmation
- Conditional
- Permission basis
- Separate permissions
- Administrative control
- Notion documents both agent-creator controls and workspace-administrator controls. Creator-level: instructions, triggers and filters, Tools and access scope, web-access toggle, Slack channel selection, model selection, hand-off to other agents, sharing with permission levels Full Access, Can Edit and Can View and Interact, activity logs of every run, version history for configuration, and CSV export of Insights on Business and Enterprise plans. Workspace-administrator level: restricting who can create Custom Agents to individuals or user groups (Settings, Notion AI, Agents), disabling an individual agent, per-agent credit limits and, on Enterprise, one workspace-level credit limit, a Notion credits dashboard showing usage by agent with spend trends and recent activity, a cross-workspace credits dashboard in the admin console, automatic pausing of all agents when workspace credits run out and of an individual agent that spends unusually fast, admin approval for member requests to raise credit limits, allowed-models controls for Custom Agents with a workspace default model, an explicit admin switch for Claude Fable 5, and Enterprise audit-log recording of key Custom Agent configuration and access changes such as instruction updates, permission changes and integration additions.
- Default state
- Not established
- Availability
- Notion states that Custom Agents require the Business or Enterprise plan and that they are built, edited and used on desktop or web. Notion states that Custom Agents are available to everyone in the workspace by default and that Enterprise plan admins can restrict who can create them. Model controls for Custom Agents are documented as available on Business and Enterprise plans. Notion launched Custom Agents in beta on 24 February 2026; beta and free-trial statements from that period are retained here as historical evidence only and are not recorded as the current position.
- Licensing
- Notion documents Custom Agents as part of the paid Notion AI offering on Business and Enterprise plans and documents consumption of Notion credits, including per-agent and workspace credit limits, premium models spending credits at the model price, and agent pausing when credits are exhausted. The Notion AI product page states Custom Agents are free to try, then 10 US dollars per 1,000 credits. Contractual terms beyond these published statements are not established here.
- External model or provider
- Notion documents that Custom Agents can run on different large language models and lists supported models including Claude Fable 5 (Business and Enterprise plans only), Claude Sonnet 5, the newest GPT models, Gemini and Grok, with Auto as the recommended default that lets Notion choose a model per request. Workspace admins can restrict allowed models for Custom Agents and set a workspace default. Notion states more generally that Notion AI uses large language models hosted by Notion as well as by organisations such as Anthropic and OpenAI, with subprocessors published separately. Notion also states that Anthropic may retain prompts and responses for a period when Claude Fable 5 is used, unlike other models available in Notion. The provider for any particular run is not established, because the model is per-agent configurable and Auto selects per request.
- Limitations and uncertainty
- ESTABLISHED: autonomous background execution from schedules and Notion or Slack event triggers; actions including updating records, filing work items, posting reports and posting messages, replies and updates to selected Slack channels; per-agent access configuration; per-agent permission levels for people; run-level activity logs; version history and reversibility through Notion version history; admin creation, credit and model controls. NOT ESTABLISHED OR CONFIGURATION-DEPENDENT: which sources, tools, triggers and actions any individual agent has, since all are configured per agent; whether external action occurs at all for a given agent, since that depends on a configured connection such as Slack; whether a human approval gate exists for a given run, since Notion documents unattended execution as the normal mode and per-item approval only in the optional suggest-edits mode; the runtime security principal used against Notion and connected systems, which Notion does not document as a distinct non-human identity, so the Registry records agent-specific permissions rather than a dedicated agent identity; any operational default for the capability, which Notion does not state; the model or provider used in a specific run. Notion describing Custom Agents as autonomous is not treated as evidence of unrestricted authority, and connection availability is not treated as evidence that a given agent performs external actions.
Evidence
- Custom Agents (Notion Help Center)
Supports: Function · Data access · Actions · External actions · Human confirmation · Permission basis · Admin controls · Default state · Availability · Licensing · External model · Limitations · Primary source
Help Center: Custom Agents run in the background on creator instructions, read granted Notion content, run on recurring schedules, Notion events and Slack events with optional filters, take actions and hand off to other agents.
Help Center: agents only use pages, databases and apps explicitly granted in Tools and access, with no full workspace access by default; Slack access covers selected public and private channels subject to admin connection and account authorisation; web access is an optional per-agent toggle.
Help Center: agents take actions such as posting reports, filing bugs, updating records and sending messages, continue running in the background after publishing, and can hand off part of a job to other Custom Agents.
Help Center: agents can post messages, replies and updates only to the Slack channels selected, and that writing depends on a Slack workspace admin connecting Slack, so external action is configuration-dependent.
Help Center: agents execute their configured actions on triggers in the background; no universal per-action approval gate is documented.
Help Center: each agent has its own configured access to pages, databases and connected apps; sharing levels Full Access, Can Edit and Can View and Interact govern which people configure or run it; Slack private channel access depends on authorising a Slack account, and no distinct non-human runtime identity is documented.
Help Center: creators control instructions, triggers, access, models and sharing; activity logs and version history support review and restore.
Help Center: an agent performs work only after it is created, given access and published; Notion does not state an operational default for the capability.
Help Center: Custom Agents require the Business or Enterprise plan, are used on desktop and web, are available to everyone in the workspace by default, and Enterprise admins can restrict who creates them.
Help Center: premium model usage spends credits at the model price.
Help Center: supported agent models include Claude Fable 5, Claude Sonnet 5, newest GPT models, Gemini and Grok, with Auto recommended; Claude Fable 5 is Business and Enterprise only and carries distinct Anthropic data-retention terms.
Help Center: sources, triggers and actions are configured per agent, so authority varies by agent rather than by the capability as a whole.
- Notion Agents product page
Supports: Function · Actions · Permission basis · Limitations · Primary source
Product page: Custom Agents automate recurring work, run while the team is offline, and are distinguished from the on-demand personal Notion Agent.
Product page: agents route work and write status updates, and changes remain reversible through Notion version history.
Product page: agents have their own permissions rather than inheriting a user permission set as the personal Notion Agent does.
Product page: runs are logged and changes are reversible, which supports review but does not establish pre-action approval.
- Notion 3.3: Custom Agents (February 24, 2026)
Supports: Function · Data access · External actions · Human confirmation · General · Primary source
Launch release: agents are configured with a job plus a trigger or schedule and run without manual prompting.
Launch release: sources can include Notion, Slack, Mail, Calendar and MCP integrations.
Launch release: connected sources such as Slack, Mail and MCP integrations are configured per agent.
Launch release: Custom Agents are described as running without manual prompting once configured.
Launch release dated 24 February 2026 establishes the first observed date for this capability.
- Ask your agent to suggest edits (August 28, 2026)
Supports: Human confirmation · Limitations · Primary source
Release: an agent can be asked to suggest edits instead of applying changes, with the user approving each edit; this optional mode makes confirmation conditional on configuration.
Release: the suggest-edits approval flow is an optional mode, not a documented universal approval requirement.
- New Custom Agent controls for admins (May 5, 2026)
Supports: Admin controls · Default state · Licensing · Primary source
Release: admins choose who can create Custom Agents, set per-agent and workspace credit limits, view a credits dashboard, disable agents, and agents pause when credits are exhausted or spending is unusually fast.
Release: admin ability to restrict creation and disable agents does not by itself establish an operational default state.
Release: credit limits per agent and per workspace, with agents pausing when credits run out.
- Control which AI models your agents can use (September 9, 2026)
Supports: Admin controls · Availability · External model · Primary source
Release: workspace owners control which models Custom Agents may use and set a default model.
Release: model controls for Custom Agents are available on Business and Enterprise plans.
Release: the model used depends on workspace-allowed models and the configured default.
- Notion AI product page
Supports: Licensing · Primary source
Notion AI page: Custom Agents sit in the paid Notion AI offering with Notion Credits pricing.
- Notion AI security & privacy practices
Supports: External model · Primary source
Security practices: Notion AI uses models hosted by Notion and by organisations such as Anthropic and OpenAI.